A Quandary

Two nights ago I had the strangest dream.

I dreamt that I had found a copy of Hitler’s Mein Kampf at a book sale. The first dilemma was whether I should buy it. Dazzled by the dollar signs flashing before me, I bought the book, listed it and the real dilemma kicked in.

How could I sleep with such a piece of filth in the house? Was it ethical to even sell a book that generates such hatred and help brainwash a nation? Sure, the buyer may be someone with an academic interest in Hitler, but they could also have been a neo-Nazi Aryan supremacist.

In my dream I removed the book from the house to the garden shed, but woke up before I had decided whether to delete the listing.

In real life I have decided not to ever purchase a copy of that paricular book, even if it’s really cheap.

4 thoughts on “A Quandary

  1. Ahh, bligg, I know this quandry! I currently have a copy of Mein Kampf sitting out the back of my shop gathering dust while I try to decide what to do with it. Initially I had picked it up at a reasonable price and put it on my shelf with only slight hesitation over the historical value vs incitement issue.When a customer pointed out an inscription I had overlooked, I realised that I could not stomach having that particular copy on display in my shop because of the previous owner’s possible history.The text and its historical significance is one thing, the fact that the world has not learned enough from that history is far worse. A big scary far worse!j

  2. :-)I’m glad my dilemma was in a dream! Good luck with your decision. Of course, the dilemma isn’t halped by the book getting good $ on Ebay….

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

