Is This Normal?

We are down to three sleeps until D Day. The ‘D’ is for Departure, Depressing, and any other appropriate D words you can think of.

On the surface I am feeling brave.  No-one is dying, we aren’t divorcing,  I do 90% of stuff on my own anyway and we have to do this to get where we want to go.  This is all spin.  I am scared.  I am frightened.  I am starting to feel abandoned.

I presume these feelings are ‘normal’.  Never having been in the position where my husband temporarily relocates elsewhere, I’m making up my own definition of normal.  So, it’s quite normal to burst into tears suddenly, it’s quite normal to have erected a bit of an emotional wall (emotionally speaking), it’s quite normal to be planning to take the kids to the toy shop after the airport farewells to assuage the “bad parent” feeling, and it’s quite normal to feel as though I’m grieving.

Despite my very real terror at being a single parent I do now that everything will be fine.  It won’t be easy, but it will be FINE!

One thought on “Is This Normal?

  1. First day – how are you doing today? Routine, routine, routine. Use every family member who offers their help, and even the ones who don't :)You'll be there before you know it.Good luck

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

