Radio Singapore Style

I have a day of nothing today, which is the first day since we’ve been here that I’m happy to just lounge about and do nothing.  We’ve been moved to a large 3 bedroom apartment and I feel quite at home and happy, although we’re moving to a 2 bedroom again tomorrow.  Musical beds!?

So, I have my lappy and I have tuned the radio into 90.5 the Classic Hits station here.  It has the most wonderfully bizarre and eclectic mix of music that I am finding quite thrilling.  It’s a bit like a lucky dip.  You never know what genre or artist is going to pop up next.

Here’s a selection of what my ears have been jiggling to today:

  • I Should Be So Lucky by Kylie Minogue
  • R.O.C.K. In The USA by John Cougar Mellancamp (or whatever his name is this week)
  • We’ve Only Just Begun by The Carpenters
  • I’ll Tumble For Ya by Culture Club
  • I Am Woman by Helen Reddy
  • The Way It Is by Bruce Hornsby and the Range
  • Together Forever by Rick Astley
  • something by Anne Murray (sorry have blocked AM songs from my memory after being tortured by them in childhood)
  • We Built This City by Starship
  • You’re The one That I Want from Grease
  • Off The Wall by Michael Jackson
  • Especially For You by Kylie Monogue and Jason Donovan
  • I’m On Fire by Bruce Springsteen

We have “classic hits” stations in Australia but they tend to stick to the same genre (rock/pop/love songs) but no way would any station EVER play Anne Murray!

Now, all I need is a dose of Mel and Kim and my day will be complete.  We ain’t ever gonna be respectable!

3 thoughts on “Radio Singapore Style

  1. I think the strangest thing I’ve heard was when a local station played the theme song from “The Neverending Story.” And my taxi uncle sang along.

  2. Uh- I beg to differ…you obviously never listen to the Old Fart’s station, whence I am sure I’ve heard ‘Old Cape Cod’. Before you ask WHY would I be listening…because they often play fantastic classic numbers from the musicals, which I love. If something unsavoury comes on, like another ad for retirement living or prepaid funerals, I switch to the Gay Station until an ad for XXXmanwaxing comes on. And so it goes.

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

