A Tale of Two Sisters

It never ceases to amaze me how different my two daughters are, as is illustrated by the following tale.

 

We’ve just returned from Hong Kong (I shall blog that in coming days) and on Sunday night the OH and I were trying to figure out how to use the train ticket machine at the Disneyland station.  It was hot, it was crowded and we were not progressing in the queue so we told the girls to go and sit on the bench about 10 metres away.  Within a few minutes they were back, with the big Missy pulling the little Missy by the hand and both were sobbing.

It appeared that after they sat down a group of Chinese people surrounded them, staring and taking their photos.  The Big Missy freaked out, felt uncomfortable and dragged her little sister away by the arm.

The Little Missy then started to cry and wail “But I want them to take my photo! I want the strangers to take my photo!”

8 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Sisters

  1. Eldest child usually more conservative & protective & do-gooder… Not necessarily always but often……. Next child…. More fancy-free… She’ll be right
    Do those descriptors fall somewhere on One and Two?
    BTW…. “I want the strangers to take my photo” loved that.. 🙂

  2. Ah, that made me laugh. I sometimes think my 2nd child is really the oldest. Possibly it is a gender/expectations thing. My 3rd is the one who loves to ham it up for the cameras and interestingly in my mum’s family of 4 kids it was the 3rd who was the chief show off.

  3. Loved this observation. We follow much the same trend. When my second was born, I knew in my head that she would be different to my first born. But even though I *knew* this, it still hits me quite forcefully at times. My eldest, like yours, is conservative & law abiding (& sooo competitive), unlike the two girls.

  4. That’s classic! Same sort of thing happened to us when we were catching the ferry across the river in Honkers. Miss 4 who was 1 at the time, had her photo taken by just about every person on that boat if not that city!!
    I said to hubby that I half expect to see her on a billboard somewhere advertising Nappies. She loved it and being blonde haired and green eyed she stood out, even the ladies of the night were smitten with her.
    On the other hand, no one took MY photo 😦 redhair and blue eyes must be out …….. oh well, I just hope they know where to send the royalties.

    *she is so not that child anymore and if anyone so much as gazes her way she hides under the table………….#2 is a different story……..*

  5. Pingback: Paparazzi | Our Big Expat Adventure

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

