Out and About

Lately we have had a few sets of visitors: two lots of friends and their children, as well as my mum. While we vow we will not play tour guide to visitors it does afford us a good opportunity to get out and see more of Singapore.

Here’s a wrap up of some of the sights we’ve seen:

Jurong East Swimming Complex

This is a local, council run water park.  On a weekend entry is a whopping $2 per adult and $1 per child.  That’s $6 for a family of four which is excellent value no matter which was you look at it!

There are 3 waterslides, lap pool, little kids waterpark, a lazy river and a wave pool.  We had a blast, even if some of us found out that water slides make you dizzy after you reach a certain age!

Singapore River Cruise

I’m well over this cruise now, having done it three times, but it’s a great way to get a different view of Singapore.  I have taken both the Hippo Cruise and the Singapore River Cruises and I much prefer the latter.  It has far better commentary and you go all the way over past the Arts Science Museum, where the Hippo cruise turns around at the Merlion.

Raffles

A Singapore icon and one I had not yet got around to seeing, and then I find myself there twice in a month. The first visit was for High Tea in the Tiffin Room.  Lovely and classy and I was thrilled and touched to be treated by a Twitter friend.  Our High Tea may well go done in Twitter history as the classiest tweet-up yet!

A couple of weeks later I ventured to the Long Bar with my mum where we had a drink and some yummy lunch. I went for the Singapore Sling and mum went for the Tiger Beer.

The Changi Museum

ever since we arrived I’ve been meaning to go to The Changi Museum, but it’s not in central Singapore and not suitable for little kids I’d yet to make it there.  The museum is free, but there’s a box near the entrance to make donations.  The museum is appropriately low-key, and features lots of written information and relics from around the time of World War II.

I’ve read a lot about the experiences of Australian POW’s during WW2 and I’m ashamed to admit that until I visited the Changi Museum I had never considered the experiences of the Singapore locals during the Japanese occupation. Probably half of the displays are based on the local experience and I found these touching and important.

In the centre of the building is a re-creation of the simple chapels that the POW’s built during their internment.  It has a really special feel and you are able to light a candle or dedicate a poppy or a cross for a small donation.

For such a small country there’s an awful lot to see!

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

