This Week (or Andy Warhol and my cervix…..)

It’s been a hell of a week here.  A week where I decided, seeing as though the Missies were back at school, to have a couple of health related things all done in the same week.

This seemed like a good idea at the time, but it left me a bit battered and emotionally drained.

Battered because I had a very small suspicious looking thingy on my nose sliced off and it is very hard (impossible?) to hide a crater right on the tip of your nose.  It’s in my line of vision and annoying my greatly, but I don’t have skin cancer so all is good.

Emotionally drained as my pap test came back with dodgy results (again).  It’s been a couple of years since I last fought with my cervix and I’d finally graduated to annual pap tests, but the universe or whomever decided I was being way too confident.  So, it feels a little like Groundhog Day except I have to see a new gynaecologist, which is disappointing as I’d got to the point with my Australian doctor where we could discuss Santa and make eye contact while he was performing a colposcopy on me.

On the bright side, I do not have cancer on my nose or on my cervix.

So, battered and drained I took some time out to see the Andy Warhol: 15 Minutes Eternal exhibit at the Arts Science museum .I am no art aficionado. I can not stare at art and pontificate about its beauty and themes. I like to look at accessible art and Andy Warhol’s penchant for Pop Art suits me to a tee.

The Arts Science museum (and the back of my mum's head).

The exhibit is divided up into different representing the different phases of Andy’s work, starting with his ink illustrations and ending with his celebrity portraits.  I particularly liked his screen prints, including his Campbell Soup and Marilyn Monroe series.  The only piece of my school artwork I still have is a series of screen prints I did of Marilyn Monroe in Year 11, for which I got 19/20.  My homage to Mr Warhol, if you will.

I really wanted to buy a coffee mug from the exhibit but (bizarrely?) they didn’t have any.  They did have freeze-dried ice cream, though……

2 thoughts on “This Week (or Andy Warhol and my cervix…..)

  1. Medical things in another country are so stressful as you are never quite sure what to expect or how things proceed if there is a problem… but sounds like it is all OK for now – glad to hear it!

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

