The Familiarity Tank

Somewhere deep inside of me is a tank reserved for the familiar.  It gets replenished by the people and places that touch my soul. And drained living in a world where everything and everybody is new.

By people who ‘get’ me, who know my history and accept that this is who I am, warts and all.  The kind of people that I can wear trackpants around and they won’t care, probably because they are also wearing trackpants, or at least wishing they were!

By places that smell right.  That look right.  Those familiar places that have worked their way deep into my soul and that exude the essence of “home”.

Prior to heading back to Australia for our first lot of home leave since moving to Singapore in May 2011 my Familiarity Tank was empty.  I’d run out of fuel and was stranded on the side of a busy highway.  I had lost my expat mojo.

Home has filled my Tank to overflowing.

I am refuelled and ready to plunge back into our new world.

12 thoughts on “The Familiarity Tank

  1. I like that Kel. Recognizing the need to refuel and doing something about it is great. Hope you continue this wise and healthy tradition. Good luck with Miss 5 on Friday & with the start of Uni… denyse x

  2. I love this KJ! You sum up exactly how things feel in such a beautiful and elegant way. Having had just a short trip back to Europe for a friends wedding my tank has had a little top up but I’m ready for a proper refuel in August! Glad you had a wonderful time and are back feel refreshed and replenished!

  3. Hi there, this is my first visit to your website, having seen your post on twitter. How long have you been traveling? Are you traveling alone or with family?
    Maybe I am not the norm but I thrive on meeting new people, new places and new things … but maybe that is because I have found a new home???
    I look forward to readingn more about the “expat mojo” 🙂

    • Hi Lisa,
      We moved from australi to singapore in May 2011, so have been “away” for 14 months. We are a family of 4 with the 2 youngest travellers being our daughters.

  4. I totally understand how you feel, I think I get homesick around the one year mark, but usually don’t make it home for 2-3 years but I need that fill to keep me going. I love the feeling of flying into Heathrow (as mad as that sounds) and seeing england in all it’s grey glory. I know it is unlikely we will ever move to my home as we live in my husbands home, Australia – and are quite settled. But that feeling of England being my home and needing to go there will never go.

    • I think that first glimpse of your home country – no matter where it is – just pulls at your heartstrings! Everything looks and sounds ‘right’.

      Thanks for finding my blog!

  5. Like Lisa, I’m a first-time visitor to your blog, and can completely relate to this post. You express your feelings so well, and succinctly! My tank is much smaller than yours – I need frequent top-ups, though luckily it’s just a short hop home to England from Spain, where I live. Looking forward to reading about your take on the expat life!

    • Thanks for stopping by and thanks for your kind words on my writing! I thought not going ‘home’ for the first year would help us settle. Maybe it did, maybe it didn’t. I bloody loved our trip home, though! I never thought I didn’t want to come back to Singapore but it was really refreshing to be a visitor in my ‘home’ country!

  6. Pingback: 24 hours in London & a Tuscan wedding « The Dot Diaries

  7. Pingback: Homesick | Our Big Expat Adventure

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

