Multinational Shopping

Once upon a time I refused to buy imported fresh produce. I bought Australian fruit, veggies, meat and seafood only.

I also did my absolute best to buy “Australian Made” products from the rest of the supermarket and I had a handy dandy book to help me out with this.  There’s always been a big push in Australia to do this, particularly as ownership of many products has now gone overseas.  We can’t help where a corporate owner is based unfortunately, but by buying products made in Australia it helps to keep Australians in jobs and keeps some of the money in the country.  (I was initially pleased and then concerned at the low prices in supermarkets and Kmart/Big W.  The long term damage low prices do to the suppliers and manufacturers is a concern – but that’s not what this post is about).

So, in Australia I would come home from the supermarket with the majority of my stuff originating from Australia.

Now my eco bags are as multicultural as the country in which I live. If I were to only buy “Made in Singapore” products I’d starve to death. Quickly. I believe there is a chicken farm that sells eggs but there is no mass primary production in Singapore that I know of (please leave a comment to correct this if I’m mistaken).

Here’s a selection of my multinational shopping bag this week:

DSCF2776

Eggs from Malaysia. Saddens me that “free range” isn’t readily available here.

 

DSCF2774

Feta from Denmark.

DSCF2773

Oranges from the US.

DSCF2772

Nectarines from South Africa.

DSCF2780

Kiwi fruit from New Zealand (of course!)

DSCF2779

Strawberries from Korea.

DSCF2778

Very ordinary apples from South Africa.

DSCF2777

Brinjal (eggplant) from Malaysia

2 thoughts on “Multinational Shopping

  1. I understand your frustration with this. We lived with it for many years in Dubai. There is a small farming community there, even some organic produce, but you certainly couldn’t live off it. Even now we’re back in Canada, so much of the produce in my local supermarket is from Florida, California and Mexico. Part of the problem is climate and geography, but it’s also the relentless drive to keep prices as low as possible. I worry about the carbon footprint, not just local jobs. Yes, there are local farmer’s markets here, but to be honest I don’t have time for the “hunter-gatherer” approach to shopping now that I’m working. A feeble excuse, I know 😦

  2. For eggs from henns which are held in propper ‘ethic’ free range conditions (which not equals “organic”, because there the henns do not have to be held by ethic standards), look at Fairprice Finest (its the mor ‘posh’ version in the whole Fairprice bunch, you know it for sure). They are the only ones packed in cardboard boxes. Hope what they tell you on the package is sincere, but one has to believe…

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

