The List

This time next week I will be in Straya*, topping up my familiarity tank and eating myself to death. The Very Hungry Caterpillar will have nothing on me!

But the next few days will be taken up with lists. Lists of what to pack, lists of what to eat and drink, lists of what to do, lists of what to buy in order of need (first order of business is a portable wifi thingamebob), a Santa list or two, and a list of things to buy to bring back to Singapore.

The list of what to bring back to Singapore is the longest and just in case I lose it here is the list of things I want to bring back to Singapore:

  • ibuprofen for kids and grown-ups;
  • panadeine;
  • period pain medicine;
  • French Onion soup mix to make this recipe;
  • underwear (it’s been a year since I bought new underwear and, whilst they’re still holding up I am heartily sick of the awful floral knickers I bought last year);
  • Blistex;
  • swimwear and rash shirts;
  • summer clothes for all of us;
  • sunscreen;
  • head lice treatments (precautionary!);
  • intestinal worm medicine;
  • cheap greeting cards and wrapping paper (both are ridiculously expensive here).

That’s the list as it stands today but I reserve the right to add to it at any time!

What do you bring from your old home to your new home?

*This is how Australians pronounce Australia. We like to drop our vowels.

 

6 thoughts on “The List

  1. Colour-free panadol! I have looked and it is not here. My kids (one of them – wasn’t game to try the other) gets super super hyper on the colouring in panadol and I found out later they don’t sell the coloured version for infants any more in Oz (just the clear, flavoured stuff) so it’s not just me! Yet you can’t find it here anywhere. Ugh.

  2. It’s always such an odd mix of things that people miss or find they can’t get wherever they are.
    In terms of nit treatments (I have more experience than I’d like) I reckon the ones that are brilliant are Lice Breaker and Nyda (although Nyda is very hard to find).

  3. Depending on the quality of wrapping paper you are looking for, SKP (a wholesale type of shop with branches in several locations) do sell cheap wrapping paper. πŸ™‚

  4. That’s a pretty similar list to mine!

    But be careful with the Panadeine and other products with Codeine in them. You are meant to have a doctor’s prescription and fill in some form (available through the Singapore Customs website). Codeine is a controlled substance here (in fact, Australia is one of the few countries in the world where you can actually buy it over the counter) and you can get in big trouble if you attempt to bring it into the country without the correct paperwork (although they are unlikely to check, but it always freaks me out).

    Have a great visit home πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I may or may not have put the Panadeine in the bags my husband brought home (he returned before us). πŸ˜‰ I hadn’t even thought of codeine being controlled so really appreciated the heads up.

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

