Thaipusam 2014

Today is Thaipusam.

This is my third time witnessing the spectacle of Thaipusam, and as the Missies are still on school holidays and my husband leaving at 7.30am for a work trip, I had to head down to Little India at 5am if I wanted to catch it.

As always, the festival was a riot of colour, dignity, incense, drums and joy. You’d never have known it was 5am from the huge number of people in and around the temple and along the 4.2km route! I thought I’d be the only observer to be silly enough to be there before dawn but the temple was packed with observers and their cameras. I even saw two girls in their Singapore American School uniforms taking in the splendour before the school day started. Whilst 5am sounds crazy it was much, much cooler than during previous years when I went during daylight hours!

My photos didn’t capture anything significantly different to what I shared here from 2012 and 2013, apart from these of the Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple. Enjoy!

DSC00949DSC00946 DSC00945 DSC00944

2 thoughts on “Thaipusam 2014

  1. So amazing and humbling (and affirming) to witness other people’s religious celebrations. Thanks for keeping me informed. I popped over to your 2012 entry to learn more about Thaipusam and am grateful that there were no pictures of people with spears in them this year 😉

    • The piercings are certainly confronting, but there’s so much more to it and that’s what I tried to concentrate my photos on this year. x

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

