The Ones Who Move Away

There is an unspoken commandment that rankles me.

It was unspoken when I moved states in the early 90’s.  And it remained unspoken, but still in force when I moved countries close to two decades later.

The ones who move away are responsible for keeping in touch with people.

It seems this was once inscribed by chisel on a stone tablet somewhere and quite frankly it shits me.*

And I’m going to end this post there lest I launch into a massive ranty monologue that may offend some people.

*For those not fluent in Australian, “shits me” means it “annoys me greatly”.

5 thoughts on “The Ones Who Move Away

  1. jinx – that shits me too. I have moved state and country (australia is my home, I just don’t live there at the moment!) and friends do get lazy. However, it probably annoys me more than them, but I do love that we can pick up where we left off. I just need to get over it!

  2. in my life it’s been both ways luckily…both parties try to keep in touch..but sometimes it’s hard…and we drift apart.

    Would love to hear your monologue.

    I can totally see why you’d be annoyed by it.

    Also cool..learnt a new australian phrase.

  3. There are a couple of people who who have no trouble at all, but sadly the vast majority seem less concerned about keeping up correspondence. Its a shame, as some of the people who I thought would be in touch the most are the ones I’ve barely heard from (and vice versa).

  4. Ooohh yes.. If I had a penny for every time someone said “Well, I would have called you, but I didn’t know how to get hold of you”.. Despite religiously sending Christmas cards, birthday cards and emails, all including full postal address, email address, and Skype details. Oh, and having kept the same cell phone number for 13 years, 3 continents and 5 moves. Hmmm.

Anything to add? I love to hear your thoughts!

